Divorcees may be eligible for the same kind of premium refund as a parent. If your ex-husband or ex-wife stood a poor record and you have continued to cover their old surcharged rates simply because they left your family permanently, bring this towards the immediate attention of your insurance representative. Visit him effortlessly pertinent and documented information so that your premiums can be reduced immediately while the application his response for a premium refund is processed.
The insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for between three to call home years, based upon state law and individual company policy. Several transgressions or a mixture of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may well not only substantially increase your rates, but will also force you to stick to the same company, paying its high premiums, with the aspiration of not receiving canceled and thrown in to the assigned risk pool, where it may be even worse.
For instance, suppose you are a New York State driver who received a speeding ticket throughout a winter visit Florida and you then slid about the ice in route home, causing $2,000 damage to your car, that you reported to your insurance company.
For example, if you were separated or divorced this past year but forgot which you were still paying a $600 premium based on a two-car family, you’d be eligible for a sudden rate reduction to $250 (based on only your automobile) and a premium refund of $560. Should you have had neglected to tell your insurance company for just two years, you would be entitled to a $780 refund, etc.
If your insurance carrier procrastinates or refuses outright to cover the refund, a state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) will help you with a legitimate complaint. As a last resort, you will find the option of utilizing the matter to a small-claims court in order to your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, a clean record today keeps the top rates away, is truer now than ever. Since the creation of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents show up on your Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even when they occurred out of state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving a business vehicle at work.